Match Report: Portumna Claim Minor B Title   21/10/2012

PORTUMNA 2-16.........ST. THOMAS 4-6

This years Minor B Hurling Title is heading east towards the Shannon after Portumna came back from behind in this thrilling PIER HEAD sponsored contest. This replay took off from where the first match left, and gave a most enertaining hours hurling, with credit to both the victors and the losers for their parts played.

St. Thomas will no doubt be disappointed after holding a 6 point lead early in the second half. The old saying that goals win matches is often correct, and St. Thomas' had struck for four by the 3rd quarter, but in order for goals to win matches, it is also implied that you score a reasonable amount of points, and 6 white flags raised is rarely enough to win a game.

Although playing against the wind in the first half, it was Portumna who opened the scoring with a Ronan O'Meara free. But St. Thomas were quick to reply from the stick of Brendan Farrell and then corner forward Mike Fallon struck well for their opening goal. The action was lively at this stage and it didnt take long for Portumna to draw level, thanks to their own green flag from full forward Jamie Flanagan. Both Eanna Burke and Ronan O'Meara exchanged points, before St. Thomas' Gerard Kelly pointed and then they stretched their lead to four points when Shane Cooney hit for his first goal (score St. Thomas 2-3, Portumna 1-2).

Ronan O'Meara and Darren Dillon did manage a point apiece to keep Portumna in touch, but a Shane Cooney pointed free and then his second goal pushed St. Thomas out to a six point lead by 3-4 to 1-4. Portumna did rally before the interval as Ronan O'Meara (free) and Jamie Flanagan both raised flags, although Shane Conney did raise a white flag for Thomas'.
Half time: St. Thomas 3-5, Portumna 1-6.

Playing with the wind now in the second half, Portumna got off the mark early and brought the deficit back to four thanks to a Ronan O'Meara free. But goal no. 4 came for St. Thomas' and it was Shane Cooney who hit the back of the net for his third. Ronan O'Meara did respond for Portumna with another free and then followed with a delightful sideline cut, while Brendan Farrell struck over the bar for his second point for St. Thomas'. Interesting enough, the clock now showed 20 minutes remaining and that point happened to be the last score for the Kilchreest/Castledaly men. They at that stage had a six point cushion but was it to be enough?

Portumna slowly began to reel their opponents in with five points on the trot. Then as they trailed 4-6 to 1-14, and with only 3 minutes of normal time remaining, the vital score came. The ball was struck towards the St. Thomas goal, wing forward Padraig Muldoon gained possession and he crashed home a goal much to the delight of his side's supporters. Another point quickly followed to now leave Portumna in front by 3 points (1-15 to 4-6).

But there was still time for plenty of drama. On the stroke of full time Portumna goalie Niall Concannon pulled off a great save to deny Shane Cooney, while Michael Fallon also came close to finding the Portuman net. With those two chances gone, it was Portumna who had the last say as Ronan O'Meara pointed his 12th point of the day to seal a great win and to spark off great celebrations for his club.

So a first Minor B title since 1998 for Portumna (they did win a A title in 1999), while St. Thomas will have to wait again til next year.

Owen Treacy, Niall Concannon, Simon Curran, Conor Barry, Ethan Horrigan, Colin Burke, James Coughlan, Sean Tuohy, Padraig Corcoran, Padraig Muldoon, John Madden, Donal Donoghue, Sean Heagney, Jamie Flanagan, Darren Dillon, Shane Rooney, Ronan O'Meara, Niall Royston, Cormac Tully, Brian Muldoon, Eddie Moloney, Daniel Gerathy.
Management: Joe Keane, Johnny Kelly, Ger Kelly, Sylvie Donoghue
Medics: Ger Moran, Joe Heagney
Portumna GAA would like to thank their club sponsor, Al Hayes Motors

St. Thomas
Andrew Fahey, Brendan Farrell, Conor Fahy, Conor Ruane, Damien Finnerty, David Sherry, Eanna Burke, Eoin Kelly, Fintan Burke, Gearoid Brady, Gerald Kelly, Jack Haverty, John Massey, Jonathan Dooley, Joseph Caulfield, Joseph Fitzgerald, Michael Fallon, Ronan Devine, Ross Caswell, Shane Cooney, Shane Murray
Manager: Colm Farrell  
Selectors: Robert Murray, Claude Geoghegan
Physio: Luke Kelly
Medical: Allan Massey, Patrick Healy
St. Thomas GAA would like to thank their Club Sponsor: Minihane's Supervalu



Main Sponsors

Supporters Club

Prediction League